110211

2 Nov

 I have a number of new perfumes of which I’m quite proud. In addition to Hermes EDP, which is a green (linden-blossom absolute and flouve), boozy (cognac), mossy scent with a bright citrusy top (along with linden-blossom essential oil) [14 notes altogether], I also have Anthea EDC. At first we made a 7% eau de toilette, but that was too strong compared to the solid, so we made a 5% cologne; it smells equally as delightful as the solid does, soft, not overpowering the way that first EDT was. We also worked on a cologne, Artemis, which I hope will be my first successful lavender perfume; I tried for several years to make a lavender perfume, and they always turned out stinky (there’s something particular about lavender which makes it so that you must choose exactly the right complements for it). Now that I have a superior knowledge of how to construct professional perfumes, I’m hoping this latest try will be successful.
 Also I’m pleased I now have eau de parfum versions of two which had been eau de colognes only, Ares and Chronos. Ares eau de parfum is without a doubt my favorite perfume from my entire collection. Others are close, but I feel Ares EDP is the essence of me, my spirit, my ego, my self-confidence. At least that’s what I like to think when I wear it. It’s also the first successful perfume I ever made. At the time, in 2006, I called it Adam’s Amber. One other successful one I was making was what eventually became Phoebe; I called it Oz simply because it has osmanthus in it. Chronos EDP is exactly what I was going for: it’s sweet, maple-like, and mysterious, a fitting homage to Annick Goutal’s Sables. Now I have to see if I can create a cologne version based on this same basic theme.
 I’m also pleased to introduce Aphelia; where Anthea is a seven-note ode to jasmine, Aphelia is a 12-note ode to rose. I called it for the Greek name for the personification of simplicity; it may have 12 notes, but they’re all basically rose-type aromas. Rose absolute to me is a little cold, so I added things to warm it up a bit: it’ based on orris concrete and vanilla in the base, araucaria (a complex and rosy aromatic) and rose gallica in the heart, and cedar and palmarosa on top, all of which are warmer than rose absolute. As far as I’m concerned it’s every bit as pleasing as Anthea, but with the difference of Aphelia being a rose-type perfume where Anthea is a simple jasmine-type perfume. Along with Anthea (jasmine), Aphelia (rose), and Artemis (lavender), I think we’ll have all the basic scents that people want–every other person at Fashion Week Tampa Bay asked what I had that smells like lavender. I had quietly to say I had nothing.

Leave a Reply

