100111

1 Oct

 This Brave New Scents Natural-Perfumers-Guild project involves 11 Professional Perfumers making perfumes out of a list of under-used or only-recently available extracts, available for perfumers in the past 10 years or so. I myself made something I’m very proud of, Hermes eau de parfum, 15%. Unfortunately, I used a couple of extracts which are suddenly unavailable: rosa bourbonia and jasmine auriculatum. Rosa bourbonia I could swear I’ve seen commonly at most natural-perfume suppliers; I was wrong, and now I have to be in touch with an original supplier in India. They have both rosa bourbonia and jasmine auriculatum, but not at the moment; I’m waiting, because those two aromatics are essential to making Hermes. I have enough of those two aromatics to make maybe two more cups of Hermes, which is not what I hoped for.
 It’s been quite an intense journey to get where I’ve gotten in natural perfume. I started by spending hours at the Perfume House in Portland, Oregon; back then I wanted to become a perfumer, but I was under the mistaken impression that to become a perfumer, you had to get an entry-level job at one of the big perfume houses. Then I read Mandy Aftel’s Essence & Alchemy; I hadn’t yet realized that the mainstream perfumes, many of which I’d come to think of as precious, were in fact a collection of the lowest grade fragrance chemicals–not the essential oils I’d heard so much talk of, just a collection of synthetic fragrance chemicals. At some point she writes, “Your task for now…,” and I hadn’t yet realized if you wanted to become a natural perfumer, you simply had to jump in and start making natural perfume.
 I quickly started making perfumes good enough to write home about, and which my friends immediately loved (I learned quickly to discern a person’s true feelings about a given perfume composition). I started out by taking Mandy Aftel’s Level I natural-perfumery workbook; a year after I passed with a solid composition (about which she wrote, “You thought out the essences for your perfume in a very considered and thorough manner, and the final perfume shows a lot of attention to evolution and structure;” that perfume eventually became Selene solid (Selene was titan of the moon, and I think of Selene solid as very nocturnal, sort of like moonlight itself)), I applied to be a Professional Perfumer with the Natural Perfumers Guild; I was quite confident I would easily be accepted into the ranks of other Professional natural Perfumers. Once I got there, I dedicated myself to becoming one of the best natural perfumers the modern world has yet known.

Bloggers:

Feminine Things
The Examiner
Perfume Critic
Perfume Shrine
All I Am A Redhead
Ca Fleure Bon
Bloggers for Ca Fleure Bon include: Michelyn Camen, Neil Sternberg, Ida Meister, Mark Behnke, and Leslie Robinson

Perfumers:

Perfume by Nature, Ambrosia Jones
Anya’s Garden Perfumes, Anya McCoy
Providence Perfume Co., Charna Ethier
House of Matriarch, Christi Meshell
Belly Flowers, Elise Pearlstine
A Wing and a Prayer Perfumes, Jane Cate
JoAnne Basset
One Seed Perfume, Liz Cook
Ascent Natural Perfumes, Rohanna Goodwin Smith
Lord’s Jester Inc., Adam Gottschalk

2 Responses to “100111”

  1. Michael October 3, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    Adam wrote:
    ” I dedicated myself to becoming one of the best natural perfumers the modern world has yet known. ”

    Well I would say you are reaching your goal quite well! Your work is beautiful. I look forward to trying Hermes!

Leave a Reply

