061211

12 Jun

I must say the car-door magnet with Lord’s-Jester-Inc. info looks great, and quite professional. I will plan to sell Lord’s-Jester-Inc. mugs, t-shirts (S, M, L), and simple window decals, with bare-bones info on it, web site, phone/fax numbers, email address, etc. One idea I’ve had since becoming a professional is this: get embroidered pocket squares with the words “Lord’s Jester” on them. Not only is this the fashion in which they applied perfume in the old days, this allows for more precise application–not like atomizers which get perfume _everywhere_ else when sprayed, except exactly where you want it; the only thing I like better is roll-ons. This, like the other schwag I’m thinking about offering, would entail a fair amount of money up front, especially if I want nice fabric. This is not to mention one day offering other products, like air freshener, deodorant, creams, etc.
 Somehow, during the move, I managed to misplace the power cable for one of my scales; Old Will Knott, from where I originally bought the scale, tells me I can’t buy the adaptor by itself. Both scales are from a company called MyWeigh. I lost the power cord for the larger one, capable of weighing 1000 grams (1kg), an iM01; I use it for weighing alcohol. The smaller one only weighs up to 100 grams (i101), but it does so with an accuracy to 0.005 of a gram–if you blow on it, it literally measures your breath. I know from this scale that a single drop of “your average” essence weighs about 0.02 gram (that’s two one-hundredths of a gram); I use this for measuring aromatics. One needs an extremely sensitive scale for weighing aromatics.
 To make a full batch of perfume you have to multiply each aromatic by at least 10. In general this means a total aromatic content of between 25 and 30 grams; the amount of alcohol depends on what concentration of perfume you’re making. For example, to make a 3% cologne from 25 grams aromatics, you would need 833 grams of alcohol (a little more than a quart). I use alcohol to blend into, usually 10 grams; so you’ve got 10 grams of alcohol, roughly 28 grams for a 25ml beaker, and roughly 30 grams of aromatics. You can see, you’re already at 68 grams; dangerously close to the 100 grams max weight for my smaller scale. I generally blend aromatics together in that 10 grams of alcohol; then I weigh out the (appropriate amount of) alcohol on the larger scale. Then I pour the aromatics/alcohol in with the larger amount of alcohol, in a mason jar. I let it sit for at least a month.

Leave a Reply

