051511

15 May

I recently overhauled my entire price structure. My two efficiency advisors (my old friend David Levit, whom I know because we did a poetry workshop together and who now sells insurance, and my father) pointed out that when I looked at the highest price I was charging, for one ounce, and compared it to the least, for .33 ounce, the arrangement was way out of whack. I was charging too little for the small stuff and too much for the big. Now the price scheme is as such: for eau de colognes (EDC) it’s $32 for .3 ounce, $38 for .4 ounce, $48 for .5 ounce, and $70 for one ounce. For eau de toilettes (EDT) it’s $50 for .3 ounce, $60 for .4 ounce, $75 for .5 ounce, and $110 for one ounce. For eau de parfums (EDP) it’s $60 for .3 ounce, $75 for .4 ounce, $90 for .5 ounce, and $140 for one ounce. Some folks might be alarmed that where, in the past, they’d paid only $20 for .3 ounce of an EDC, now it’s $32; however, they will be pleased that the largest bottles (one ounce) have stayed the same price, and even gone down a little (the EDP, for example).
Aside from prices, I’m working to tighten up the Lord’s-Jester-Inc. graphical identity, and to be better about company-client relations. So, for example, I’ll start using the little jester-face logo on mailing labels, and I’ll be sure to write thank-you notes for every order; I’ll be buying folded thank-you cards with the image of my business-card on the front and possibly a map of the Lord’s-Jester lab/atelier (my own home) location on the back side. In addition, I have two canvass tote bags and I ordered a couple of mugs, both with the business-card image on them. I could possibly sell one or both of those some day; they’re not cheap, so I’d have to resell them for a pretty penny. Also, I ordered two large car-door magnets, also with the business-card image on them. I’m not sure yet how willing I’ll be to be a driving (glaring) advertisement.
Getting back into the swing of being a natural perfumer is a tough prospect. The web site needs to be adjusted so that users who use Internet Explorer (IE) are taken to a different site, one based on tables instead of CSS–Microsoft, stupidly, won’t follow ubiquitous conventions in CSS coding. Actually, only twice have people complained, over more than three years of the web site’s existence, that parts of certain pages were hidden by extraneous panes; when I explained that they can’t use IE, that they should Firefox, Mozilla, or Safari (anything but IE), they were all too pleased to acquiesce. I think I’ll stick to my guns; I don’t enjoy the way IE works anyway; and I have a note on my splash page that people shouldn’t use IE. Maybe I’ll make that note in bold, and offer suggestions for what other browsers to use. Yes, that’s what I’ll do.

Leave a Reply

